Mary Schwab Employee Service Award

Each year, Ƶ gives an award for outstanding service by a full-time or part-time staff member. Any non-faculty employee of Thomas More is eligible, including directors.

To win, the employee must be nominated by a student, faculty member, or staff member of Thomas More. A selection committee will select the recipient from among those nominated. No one may win two years in a row.

The criteria evaluated by the Committee include:

  • Overall service to the Thomas More Community – It is not necessary that the nominee serves all components of the community (students, faculty, and staff) but should have established a record of service to at least one component.
  • Personal characteristics – The nominee who exemplifies the characteristics of Mary Schwab, in whose honor the award is named, is given precedence over other nominees. Mary Schwab was noted for being cheerful, helpful, patient, and kind.
  • Length of employment – The individual who has been serving the community for a longer period of time takes precedence over the more recent employee.
  • Number of nominations – The number of nominations received by an employee is not a major factor in determining the recipient of the award. The strength of the nomination is a major factor.

Nominations must include your reasons for nominating the employee. We will not consider nominations without this section completed. The recipient of the award will receive a gift, an office plaque, and his/her name inscribed on the Mary Schwab Employee Service Award plaque at the top of the main staircase.

Previous Winners

22/23John Ernst
21/22Kelsey Wicher
20/21Aimee Zimmer
19/20Jeff Hetzer
18/19Mark Messingschlager
17/18Judy Crist
16/17Nathan Hartman
15/16Charlene Barlow
13/14Mary Givhan
12/13Jim Gibson
11/12Joyce McKinley
10/11Jim McKellogg
09/10Kelly Goyette
08/09Genie Wambaugh
07/08Beth Maley
06/07Beth Koester
05/06Jeff Kordenbrock
04/05Amy Flaugher & Lisa Scheper
03/04Jewell Ard
02/03Pat Gieske
01/02Robin Collins
00/01Jan Qualls
99/00Dolores Fink
98/99Maureen Bensman
97/98Dave Neyer
96/97Mary Webster
95/96Joy Nolan
94/95Cindy Koenig
93/94Eddie Williams
92/93Mary Ann Baker
91/92Ruth Middleton
90/91Sr. Berenice Byron
89/90Jeanne Pike
88/89Paul Calme
87/88Mary Dahlhoff
86/87Mary Endres
85/86Marlene Humphrey
84/85Jim Mann
83/84Nancy Bruns
82/83William Carroll & Mary Dorough